Article Details

Health Roundtable Innovation Award Winners

Categories: Public, Roundup Issue #13 | Author: David Dean | Posted: 16/10/2012 | Views: 1908
Meeting in Sydney - 11-12 October

The Health Roundtable Innovation Workshops and Awards meeting in Sydney attracted over 80 presentations and 150 attendees to share issues and innovations on 11-12 October.

Every poster presentation provided valuable insights to participants.  All have agreed to share their presentations widely.  Please search our library section, using the meeting code HRT1215 to find all the posters. 

Attendees selected the poster in each of the sessions which they would most like to implement at their health service.  At the end of the workshops, the attendees met in a plenary session to vote on the "best of the best" for implementation, selecting the overall winners in each of four major topic areas.

The posters selected by participants as being the most innovative for implementation at their health service are listed below:


The Health Roundtable  
Innovation Workshop Innovation Awardees

Karen Caldwell, Calvary Health Care
Demand Escalation Planning Click here  
Lucy Burns, St George
(Urgent Patient Stream Winner)
Increasing Capacity – Introducing an acuity scale into outpatient chemotherapy unit. Click here
Helen Cooper, Gold Coast Health Service
Medical Assessment Unit Click here
Ben Kwan, Prince of Wales
Central Network Respiratory Coordinated Care Click here
Altaf Ahmad, Long Bay Hospital
Green Cleaning Click here
Carina Falomir, St George Hospital
4 East –LEAN 5 S Click here
Matthew Jennings, Liverpool Hospital
OACCP Osteoarthritis Chronic Care Program Click here
Ryan Midgley, Royal Adelaide Hospital
(Chronic Care Stream Winner)
Instant Bedside Review of Mobile Chest X-rays using Direct Capture Click here
Fiona Nelson, Austin Health
(Surgical Patient Stream Winner)
Care of Patients with a Fractured Neck of Femur Click here
Kathy Flanigan, Metro South QE II Jubilee
Improving Patient Flow in Orthopaedic Inpatients Click here
Alex Smeaton, Illawarra Shoalhaven LHD
High 5 DRG Project Click here
Ian Hutchby, Counties Manukau
Spreading Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) Principles into Orthopaedics Click here
Karen Rog,Western Health (Melbourne)
Hourly Patient Rounding Click here
Chris McKenna
Long Stay Patient Ward Rounds – Opportunity for Visible Leadership Click here
Paul McNamara, Cairns & Hinterland
(Quality Care Stream Winner)
Deploying Complex Information via QR Code Click here
Sanjoy Nand, Counties Manukau
Using ART to get Bang for Buck – Systematic Prioritisation to Deliver Medication Safety Interventions Click here
Deborah De Bono, University of NSW
‘Work Arounds’ and Medication Safety Click here

Bookmark and Share

Return to previous page